ConsoleNewsPC

E3 2018: What to expect from Square Enix

June 11, 2018 — by Mithun "Barbarian_Monkey" Mohandas0

main

ConsoleNewsPC

E3 2018: What to expect from Square Enix

June 11, 2018 — by Mithun "Barbarian_Monkey" Mohandas0

It’s been a while since we’ve heard of anything significant from Square Enix. Not since 2015 has the Japanese game developer / publisher done an E3 showcase but 2018 is all set to break the spell and shed light on some of the biggest projects that Square Enix has taken on. Key expected announcements include Dragon Quest 11, Shadow of the Tomb Raider, Kingdom Hearts 3, Final Fantasy 7 Remake, The Avengers Project, Just Cause 4, Octopath Traveler, Life is Strange 2 and Dragon Quest Builder 2.

Square Enix E3 2018 Live stream time:

The Square Enix livestream from E3 2018 will take place at 10:30PM IST or London: 6PM / Berlin: 7PM / San Francisco: 10AM / New York: 1PM / Moscow: 8PM / Sydney: 3AM (June 12th) / Beijing: 1AM (June 12th) / Tokyo: 2AM (June 12th). You can watc

Square Enix E3 2018 Live stream links:

As with all E3 streams, you can watch them directly on YouTube, Twitch, Square Enix’s website and on Mixer.

Given the amount of news leaks we’ve been seeing over the past couple of weeks, we have a fair idea of what all Square Enix will be talkin about at their E3 2018 showcase. Here’s all that’s expected in brief.

FF7 Remake

Featuring a fully revamped combat system that’s real time and not turn-based, the upcoming Final Fantasy 7 remaster has been anticipated for quite some time. Especially, since they first announced the remake back at E3 2015 where they showcased Cloud Strife casually walking away from the viewer with the Buster Sword strung across his back.

This isn’t the 2014 game which they’d released for the PS4 but a completely reworked one.

Just Cause 4

We saw the trailer for Just Cause 4 drop yesterday as Avalanche Studios puts you back in Rico Rodriguez’s shoes to fight ‘The Black Hand’ which is the world’s most powerful private army based in the fictional South American country of Solis. The game will be released for PC, Xbox One and PS4.

Expect a lot more fighting, wingsuit action and dramatic explosions with the protagonist heroically strutting in the foreground. The Just Cause series are known for their massive open-world maps and choice of vehicles and methods to traverse them. In the recent video showcasing the new Just Cause game, we saw the use of weather effects which have been made possible because of the new game engine.

Kingdom Hearts 3

Originally announced way back at E3 2013, Kingdom Hearts 3 is the much awaited action RPG video game developed by Square Enix themselves. Set after the events of Kingdom Hearts 3D: Dream Drop Distance, Kingdom Hearts III will see the protagonist Sora along with his mates Donald Duck, Goofy, King Mickey and Riku as they set out in search for the seven ‘Guardians of Light’ and the ‘Key to Return Hearts’.

The game will be based in Unreal Engine 4 as far as we know so far and will see the band of heroes crossover across the Disney, Marvel, Pixar and Final Fantasy worlds in their journey to thwart Master Xehanort’s plan to initiate a second Keyblade War. The game is set to release in January 2019.

Shadow of the Tomb Raider

With a confirmed release date of September 14, 2018, Shadow of the Tomb Raider is the third game that will launch this year from amongst Square Enix’s E3 2018 announcements. This will be the third video game in the Tomb Raider reboot series following Rise of the Tomb Raider which was released in 2015.

The game is set after the events of Rise of the Tomb Raider as our protagonist Lara Croft heads over to Latin America on an expedition in search of a Mayan Relic that has a connection to her father. Lara will supposedly set off the Mayan apocalypse during her bid to retrieve the relic and the game will be centred around her attempts to save the world.

The Avengers Project

Announced in January 2017, The Avengers Project is a joint venture between studios Crystal Dynamics and Eidos Montreal. As the name suggests, the game will be based around the Marvel universe. The launch date for the game is yet to be announced but we’re assuming that Square Enix might be working with Disney to have to launch sometime around the next Marvel movie that’s slated to hit theatres in 2019.

As per the latest announcement, the developers have made tremendous progress after hiring 15 top industry talent to work on the game. These include Naughty Dog creative director Shaun Escayg and Stephen Barry who has previously worked with Visceral Games and EA.

Dragon Quest XI

Dragon Quest XI: Echoes of an Elusive Age isn’t a new title as it has already been launched for the Nintendo 3DS and PS4 back in July 2017 in Japan. However, owing to the success of the title, the English version of the title is set for release on the PS4 and Windows platform in September 2018.

Dragon Quest XI, like the previous titles in the franchise, is an RPG title that has players exploring the world and fighting monsters to save mankind … sigh…

Dragon Quest Builders 2

With the multiplayer aspect being the key highlight for Dragon Quest Builders 2, the sequel to the action RPG will be coming to PS4 and Nintendo Switch. The title was announced at Dragon Quest Feastival in Tokyo, Japan in August 2017. New features to look out for include sloping platforms, swimming underwater and the ability to create waterfalls. Also, traversing the land is much quicker thanks to the introduction of the hang glider.

Octopath Traveler

To be exclusive to Nintendo Switch, this title will come out in July 2018. Octopath Traveler is a turn-based adventure game that’s centered around Square Enix’s existing portfolio of video games.

Comments

comments

Mithun "Barbarian_Monkey" Mohandas

Deep in the suburban jungle roams the only member of the mystical species, Barbarianicus Ass-kick-us. This super awesome creature carries with it the answers to none of life's mysteries. Then what on earth could be so awesome about him? Being able to binge-game for countless hours and exercise remarkable restraint over his penchant for sarcasm around members of lesser species are just some of qualities that make him likeable...really likeable. xD

Leave a Reply